The purpose of the Whangamata Ratepayers Association is to generally advance the interests of ratepayers and residents in Whangamata, to preserve, conserve, and enhance the amenities of our town.

Together we work to promote or oppose bills legislative or other measures or bylaws affecting the interests of our members. 

"The whole is more than the sum of its parts" - Aristotle 


We're keen to represent as many residents and ratepayers in Whangamata as we can; while TCDC is a strong and well organised Council in the main, there are from time to time regional issues that affect us, and are overlooked or overshadowed by the issues and demands of other parts of the council district. 

Whangamata and Mercury Bay are by far the largest contributors of rates to council, but this is at times under-represented in some decisions with a majority of Councilors, the Mayor and Deputy Mayor based on the western side of the peninsula. Our aim is to assist our Community Board to understand our needs, and to help give a voice in support.

We need your support.
Become a member and help us advocate for our community.

2019 Committee

Chairman: Terry Wilson

Secretary: Suzie Smith

Treasurer: Suzie Smith

Brian Airey

Brian Grant

Tim Hart

Mike Jeffcoat

Dale McKenzie

Marie-Louise Norberg

Sue Priest

John Spencer

Mike Jeffcoat